Museum Studies encompasses the study of museums, museology, and the development of the skills necessary for professional museum practices. The success of a museum requires the combined skills and knowledge of a variety of museum professionals and the participation and contribution of volunteers and trustees.
THE DOAK HOUSE MUSEUM
The Doak House Museum is a non-profit, educational institution, established as a museum in 1975. Its mission is collecting, interpreting, researching, preserving, and exhibiting the original Doak House, college related artifacts (since 1794), Doak family artifacts (1830-1860), and educational and religious artifacts and documents from Northeast Tennessee.
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVE & PRESIDENT ANDREW JOHNSON MUSEUM & LIBRARY
Tusculum’s Old College building (1841) is home to Tusculum University’s special collections, including the President Andrew Johnson Library, Coffin Rare Book Collection, and University Archives.
Help us bring the Doak House Museum to life!
Be a partner in restoring the Doak House Museum’s chimneys to their former capacity! In restoring the chimneys, the Doak House Museum can offer a more immersed historical experience for visitors and learning groups. Click below to donate toward this project and choose “Old College & Doak House Museum”.
For additional information about the museums, archives, and group programs, please contact us at (423)636-7348 or Peter Noll at firstname.lastname@example.org. To learn more, find us on Facebook.
Founded in 1794, Tusculum was the 28th college founded in the United States.
Tusculum traces its origins to the founding of Greeneville College by the Reverend Hezekiah Balch, a graduate of Princeton and a Presbyterian minister. The Territorial Legislature chartered the college, and its stated purpose was to provide a liberal arts education for a new generation of civic leaders on the frontier.